Stationary Engines

Click to view all Stationary Engine articles starting with the most recent.

brayton-1876-inverted-walking-beam-engine Brayton Ready Motor Hydrocarbon Engine - George Brayton was a pioneer of the internal combustion engine and built commercially available engines starting in 1872. However, his constant-pressure cycle engines were outperformed by later engines.
Fairbanks-Morse 32-14 engine Fairbanks Morse Model 32 Stationary Engine - Production of the Fairbanks Morse Model 32 engine began in the mid-1920s. The engine was used to do everything from generating power to crushing rocks. Some Model 32 engines are still in use today.
Michel 3-cylinder Michel Opposed-Piston Diesel Engines - Starting in the 1920s, German engineer Hermann Michel designed a series of opposed-piston engines. Michel’s ultimate design was an engine in which three pistons converged in a common combustion chamber.
Nordberg 12-cylinder radial diesel Nordberg Radial Stationary Engine - Starting in the late 1940s, the Nordberg Manufacturing Company built large 11- and 12-cylinder stationary radial engines primarily used to generate electricity and to run pumping stations.
Otto-Langen Atmospheric Engine Otto-Langen Atmospheric Engine - In 1867, Nicolaus Otto and Eugen Langen debuted an efficient, free-piston, atmospheric engine. Although the Otto-Langen engine was outclassed in 10 years, it led the way to the four-stroke internal combustion engine.